Confession: I’m Weird and That’s Ok

collage3

I don’t mean to alarm anyone but… I just scraped.

That’s right. I’m silently freaking out because I scraped my jeans with my fingertips. There’s not much that can be done to fix a “scraping episode”. I can wash my hands for as long as possible, but I still feel the dry, “nails on a chalkboard” sensation.

I’m not OCD – I’m just weird. I’ve come to accept that. I think life would be a lot easier if people could openly express their weirdness without any backlash, judgement or raised eyebrows.

I’ve found that others have a similar, seemingly mundane, day-to-day activity that gives them the heebie-jeebies. I’ve met people who can’t touch napkins because of the feel and others who can’t touch honey because of the sticky sensation.

At first, I scoffed and thought; “Pfft. That’s weird.” But then I abruptly remembered that I’m the chick who can’t touch her own jeans without having a conniption. So I did the best thing one can do in a situation like that. I consoled the traumatised individual and allowed them to cry into my shoulders as they relived that horrifying day. Not really. But I understood their pain.

Okay, so, some people understand my sensitivity to coarse surfaces. But so far, I’ve yet to find people who share my disgust upon the viewing of honeycombs.

Yes, honeycombs. Let that sink in for a minute.

I can’t stand the look of them. There are too many holes together. In fact, I don’t like too much of anything put closely together. In Shrek 3, dozens of babies roll out of the closet and every time, I want to be violently ill. I’ve succumbed to fast-forwarding that part of the movie (to which you probably ask, why not fast-forward the WHOLE movie).

There’s no rhyme or reason as to why I find it so repulsive. It’s just hardwired into my brain. I’m just weird.

I can guarantee that, you too, are weird and haven’t come to terms with the revelation. It’s therapeutic to admit it – promise. It’s also a great excuse if you happen to do something socially unacceptable because people will merely shrug and say; “don’t worry about him/her. He’s/she’s just weird.”

It’s a win/win situation.

So tell me on Twitter, in the comments below or email tyrolinp@gmail.com what you can’t stand to touch or watch.

2 thoughts on “Confession: I’m Weird and That’s Ok

Leave a comment